General Information

Brief History

Jakarta was at first a small harbour called Sunda Kelapa Governed by Pajajaran Dynasty, namely the last Hinduism Empire in West Java. Sunda
Kelapa was than a trading town and international trading center. Portuguese was the first country to step on Sunda Kelapa in 1522 as the
delegate of the Governor of Malaka. After entering into an agreement, they built a Castle near Ciliwung River delta at the consent of Sunda
Kelapa's authority.

In 1527 some Portugueseans came again in a small armada without knowing that Sunda Kelapa had fallen into Fatahillah's hands, so a battle was
inevitable a round Jakarta Gulf which was then won by Fatahillah. And at his initiative, on June 22, 1527 Sunda Kelapa's name was changed into
Jayakarta, means perfect victory.

Sunda Kelapa's appeal as trading harbour attracted Dutch and English to come Jayakarta for trading mission by taking opportunity from every
conflict arising among local authorities in order to gain profit.

Dutch arrived for the first time in Jakarta in 1596 led by Cornelis de Houtman after esthablising Vereenigde Oost-indische Compagnie (VOC). Until
the beginning of the 16th Century, the Dutch merchants establishes trading office in Jayakarta. By the end of 1618, Englishmen took over the
winning local people sympathy. Under the leadership of Jan Pieterzoon Coen, the Dutch trading company or VOC snatched away Jayakarta and
changed its name into Batavia in 1619. From then, the dutch started their colonialism in Indonesia for more than 3,5 centuries until the arrival of
Javanese armies in 1942.

After falling into Japan's hands in 1942, Batavia changed its name again into Jakarta. When Japan surrendered to the Allied Force in 1945,
Indonesia people proclamed its Independence.

After the 1945 Independence proclamation, Jakarta is stipulated as the capital of Republic Indonesia. In 1950, Jakarta became a municipality led
by a Major. The status was promoted in 1964 into a region of province level and called Special District of Capital City (DKI) Jakarta led by a
Governor. Following the enforcement of regional autonomy , in 1999 Jakarta was inaugurated as Jakarta Province.

People and Culture

Jakarta has its own special Betawi culture, which the influences reached the city's shores over the centuries. Along process of selectively
borrowing and uniquely blending Chinese, Arab, Portuguese and Dutch elements with native ingenuity has produces the colorful. The word
"Betawi" is derived from Batavia, the old name of the capital during the Dutch administration. Java, Sumatra's, Bali and Sulawesi, hailing from
Papua and Kalimantan, home of the Dayaks and one of the largest rainforests in the world it is part of the city dominant populations. Over the
centuries, these groups have kept their cultural roots, yet some have also intermixed, including with non-Indonesians, to form a special group of
their own known as Orang Betawi.

Regions & Geographic Location

It's located on a wide, flat alluvial plain bound with the Banten province and West Java, covers 650 square kilometers of land which rises from five
to 50 meters above the sea level. Thirteen major waterways flow through it and ended at Jakarta Bay. Time is GMT plus 7 hours. Local time
estimates as WIB (Waktu Indonesia Barat). Bound the north by the Java Sea, the east by Bekasi district, the south by Bogor district (these
districts lay within the province of West Java) and the west by Tangerang district (lay by the province of Banten). The city boundaries blend
imperceptibly into the neighboring districts, fill out with the city's industry. The acronym is Jabodetabek (Jakarta -- Bogor -- Depok --Tangerang --


Lying near the equator, year -- round with hot and humid climate. The long rainy season falls between late October and early May though rain
occurs throughout the year, averaging 1,791mm. It rains on only a handful of days during the dry season from July to September.

Afternoon humidity averages around 70%, temperatures are fairly even throughout the year, averaging nearly 340C maximum and 250C minimums.
Jakarta gets a steady supply of 12 hours daylight throughout the year.


Jakarta has status of province with very extensive size and population similar to the other 33 provinces throughout Indonesia. As a province,
Jakarta is headed by Governor who is directly responsible to the President of Republic of Indonesia via the Minister of the Home Affair. Jakarta is
considered a Special Region (Daerah Khusus Ibukota -- DKI). Jakarta had five municipalities (Kotamadya): Jakarta Pusat (Central Jakarta),
Jakarta Utara (North Jakarta), Jakarta Timur (East Jakarta), Jakarta Selatan (South Jakarta) and Jakarta Barat (West Jakarta). Each headed by a
Mayor (Walikota). Each municipality is comprised with few of Kecamatan, headed by a Camat, and each Kecamatan is divided into Kelurahan or
'village' level.

Jakarta uniquely stands with collection of villages, with neighborhoods providing the basic services such as garbage collection and security. In
Jakarta, there are 43 sub-districts and 265 villages. In addition, there are also social organizations as of neighborhoods units: Rukun Tetangga
(RT) and Rukun Warga (RW), which are under jurisdiction of a sub-district. Thousand Island or Kepulauan Seribu is Jakarta administrative

Business Hours

Government offices and Banks open with specials office hour implemented start from 8 AM to 4 PM from Monday to Friday, Saturday - Sunday
and public holidays are closed. Business office open from 9 AM to 5 PM, Saturday and Sunday generally closed. Shopping complexes, shop,
supermarkets and department stores stay open from 9 AM until 9 PM smaller shops may close at 5 PM various shops and airlines offices open
for least of the day. Moneychangers open on longer hour.

Currency and Credit Card

Indonesia currency is denominated in Rupiah (IDR) and freely convertible. Major world currencies and travelers checks can be converted to or from
Indonesian Rupiah at all major hotels. Notes come in 25, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1.000, 5.000, 10.000, 20.000, 50.000, 100.000 Rupiah denominations.
Exchange rates are somewhat more favorable at local banks, and better still at money-changing offices. At the time writing, US$ 1 is equal to
about Rp. 9.500,-. Major international credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, American Express and JCB Card) are widely accepted in Jakarta.
Automated Teller Machines (ATMs) are found throughout the city.
Provided by the Tourism Authority of Jakarta
Instant confirmation & friendly
cancellation policies -
Special sale rates with
up to 75% off. offers you the best deal for Hotels in Jakarta. We guarantee wide range of hotel selection,
categories and the best rates that will suite your taste and budget thus giving you a leeway to perfectly
plan your holiday. We are partner with, an online travel company specializing in securing
discount hotel prices in Indonesia and Asia. We will not only guaratee you the best hotels prices but an
effecient booking services as well.